IRP News

  • IRP Fellow Wins UN Correspondents’ Gold Medal Award

    Julia Lyon, a 2009 IRP Fellow, has won the UN Correspondents Association "Gold Medal" Award for her package of stories about Burmese refugees in Thailand and their journey to the United States. Lyon, a reporter for the Salt Lake Tribune, will be honored on December 15 as the winner of the Elizabeth Neuffer Memorial Prize at an awards dinner of the UN Correspondents Association hosted by UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon. Lyon, who is expecting a child in Utah, will not attend. Her editors and John Schidlovsky, director of the IRP, will be present at the awards ceremony in New York. The...

  • IRP Fellow Wins Front Page Award

    2010 IRP Fellow Betsy Pisik has been named the winner of the 2010 Front Page Award for best in-depth newspaper reporting for her stories from the Democratic Republic of Congo. The awards are given by the Newswomen's Club of New York and will be presented at a dinner November 4 in New York. Pisik was honored for her series "Lost Story of the Lost Continent: How Rape is Used as a Tool of War in Congo," which ran in The Washington Times. Pisik is currently reporting from Nigeria as an IRP Fellow. She is a freelance reporter based at the United Nations...

  • IRP Fellow wins German Marshall Fund prize for European reporting

    The German Marshall Fund of the United States (GMF) has named 2003 IRP Fellow Sarah Wildman, as the 2010 recipient of the Peter R. Weitz Journalism Prize for excellence and originality in reporting on Europe and the transatlantic relationship. Wildman has been awarded the $10,000 prize for her investigation of the International Tracing Service (ITS), the world's largest Holocaust archive in Bad Arolsen, Germany. Published in Slate, the five-piece series, called "riveting" by one judge, records her journey to the ITS in search of information on a relative's final year, entwining personal family history with the larger struggle to categorize, analyze,...

  • IRP receives Overseas Press Club Citation

    The IRP has been awarded a citation by the Overseas Press Club in its 2010 Awards in the category of best reporting on international environmental issues for a series on Rwanda reported by IRP Fellow Perry Beeman of The Des Moines Register. Entitled "Renewal in Rwanda," the multimedia series was entered in the OPC Awards competition this year as a joint entry between the IRP and the Register, where Beeman is an environmental reporter. The series received a Citation among entries for the OPC's Whitman Bassow Award, which honors the best reporting in any medium on international environmental issues. "We'...

  • IRP Fellow Tara McKelvey awarded Alicia Patterson Foundation fellowship

    2009 IRP Fellow Tara McKelvey 2009 IRP Fellow Tara McKelvey is among six journalists to receive a 2010 Alicia Patterson Foundation fellowship. McKelvey spent five weeks in Russia reporting on loose nuclear materials as part of a grant from the International Reporting Project (IRP). The Alicia Patterson Foundation fellowship program for journalists was established in 1965 in memory of Alicia Patterson, who was editor and publisher of Newsday for nearly twenty-three years before her death in 1963. One-year grants of $40,000 and six-month grants of $20,000 are awarded to working print journalists and photographers. Fellows pursue independent projects of significant interest and write/illustrate articles based on...

  • IRP Fellow David Rochkind wins 2009 Images to Stop Tuberculosis Award

    Priest praying for TB victim. photo: David Rochkind An International Reporting Project (IRP) photojournalism project on tuberculosis in the South African gold mining community has won an award from the World Health Organization's Stop TB Partnership. The project was carried out by David Rochkind, a 2008 IRP Fellow, whose IRP fellowship took him to South Africa to document the high incidence of tuberculosis among gold miners. Rochkind received the "2009 Images to Stop Tuberculosis Award," which is supported by the Lilly MDR-TB Partnership. Click here to see a gallery of his South Africa images.  

  • IRP Fellow Eva Sanchis wins NAHJ Award

    A series of stories by an International Reporting Project (IRP) Fellow on illegal logging in Honduras has won the National Association of Hispanic Journalists' 2008 Guillermo Martinez-Marquez Award for Latin American Reporting. The award was presented at the NAHJ's annual "Noche de Triunfos"gala dinner in Washington D.C. to Eva Sanchis, who reported from Honduras in 2006 as an IRP Fellow. Sanchis's stories ran in El Diario/La Prensa, a New York-based Spanish-language paper where she is the metro editor. As an IRP Fellow, Sanchis spent five weeks in Honduras reporting on Honduran groups who oppose the illegal exportation...

  • IRP Fellow Eliza Barclay awarded Metcalf Fellowship

    Eliza Barclay has received an Annual Workshop for Journalists fellowship from the Metcalf Institute for Marine and Environmental Reporting. The Metcalf Fellows will attend a week-long marine and environmental science immersion program at the University of Rhode Island Graduate School of Oceanography from June 7 to June 12, 2009.   Click here for more information about the Metcalf Institute Fellowship.  

  • IRP Fellow Tom Clynes Selected for Knight-Wallace Fellowship

    Tom Clynes, contributing editor, National Geographic Adventure, is one of 12 American journalists selected for the 2009-2010 Knight-Wallace Journalism Fellowship at the University of Michigan. Clynes study project will focus on the prediction and prevention of global pandemics. Click here to learn more about the Knight Fellowship.  

  • IRP Fellow Lisa Mullins selected for Niemen Fellowship

    2007 Korea group trip fellow, Lisa Mullins, has been chosen to be a Nieman Fellow. Mullins along with 23 other accomplished journalists will spend a year at Harvard University studying and attending seminars/special events. The group includes print and multimedia reporters and editors; radio and television journalists; photographers; book authors; a filmmaker and a columnist. Click here to learn more about the Niemen Fellows